ALBCD 016 – Pure Imagination – Roberto Gatto and Lysergic Band

Original price was: ¥2,619.Current price is: ¥2,226.

ピュア・イマジネーション/ロベルト・ガット & リサージック・バンド


Following the great success of Remembering Shelly, homage to legendary Shelly Mann, Roberto Gatto has just started on his new project in all-star octet “Lysergic Band” – Giovanni Falzone, Gaetano Partipilo, Max Ionata, Roberto Rossi, Battista Lena, Alessandro Lanzoni, Dario Deidda – all experts in the cutting-edge international Jazz scene, with whom Gatto accomplishes an another monumental achievement in the European contemporary Jazz history.

App Icon Apple Music



Format: CD / ALBCD-016
JAN: 4560312310168


Giovanni Falzone (tp)
Gaetano Partipilo (as)
Max Ionata (ts, ss)
Roberto Rossi (tb)
Battista Lena (el.g)
Alessandro Lanzoni (p)
Dario Deidda (cb, el.b)
Roberto Gatto (ds)

Rec data:

Recorded at Casa del Jazz Rome Italy, on September 28-29-30, 2010
Recording engineer : Pasquale Minieri
Recording assistant : Ascanio Cusella
Mixing & mastering engineer : Luca Bulgarelli
Artist photos [C] Pino Ninfa (Courtesy of Vicenza Jazz Festival)
[C] [P] 2011 albóre jazz


  1. Deep (R. Gatto)
  2. Fall (W. Shorter)
  3. Mushi Mushi (D. Redman)
  4. Flow (R. Gatto)
  5. Queen Porter March (R. Rossi)
  6. Su Lungotevere (R. Gatto)
  7. Take The Dark Train (B. Lena)
  8. Pure Imagination (Leslie Bricusse / Anthony George Newley)
  9. Lyergic (R. Gatto)
  10. The Swinging Cats (R. Gatto)

All songs arranged by Roberto Gatto
Except “Queen Porter March” by Roberto Rossi, “Take The Dark Train” by Battista Lena“Deep”, “Flow”, “Su Lungotevere”, “The Swinging Cats” [P] Edizioni Cam

Album previews


dg_logoExcellent work from a player we love more and more with each new album – Roberto Gatto, an artist we love equally both for his work as a leader, and on the drums! The set features a slightly larger group than usual – Gatto’s Lysergic Band, with alto from Gaetano Partipilo, tenor and soprano sax from Max Ionata, trombone from Roberto Rossi, and trumpet from Giovanni Falzone – all horn players who are used sparingly, in really wonderful ways to flesh out the music, and give it a great deal of individual personality! This is less an ensemble recording than a shifting set of voices that have found some great space to come together – working under Gatto’s strong guidance in these moody blends of darkness and light. Other players include Battista Lena on guitar and Alessandro Lanzoni on piano – and titles include “The Swinging Cats”, “Lysergic”, “Take The Dark Train”, “Deep”, “Fall”, and “Queen Porter March © 1996-2015, Dusty Groove, Inc.