Import LP – ODDFUNK 006 – Odd Jazz Vol 1 – The Blassics

フィンランド発、アナログ・サウンドに強いこだわりを持ち、ヴィンテージ機材を用いたアナログ・レコーディングで60-70年代のレアグルーヴ・サウンドを現代に再現する<Odd Funk Records>。

そのレーベル・オーナーであり、アフロビート〜ファンク・バンドThe Blassicsの中心人物でもあるTuure Tammi、Juha Sarkkolaの2人が提唱するアフロ〜アヴァンギャルド・ジャズ・プロジェクト<ODD JAZZ>。
ヒプノティックなベース・ライン、アフロ調ドラム&エキゾチックなパーカッションによるビートを基調に、トランペット、テナー、ピアノ、エレピ、シタールが静かに昇華する、捨て曲なしの全12トラック。70年代の未発表作品かと耳を疑うサウンドで、Sun Ra好きはもとより、アブストラクトHIP HOP、ダブステップ・ファンにもオススメです。



LABEL: Odd Funk Records, Finland
FORMAT: LP limited 500 copies, hand-numbered / ODDFUNK-006
ARTIST: The Blassics
TITLE: Odd Jazz vol 1
JAN: 4560312319598


Jouni Joronen (piano, tenor sax, flute on A1, A4, B4)
Mikko Myllyniemi (sitar, percussions on B2, B3)
Arttu Launis (tenor sax on A2, drums and wurlitzer on A6)
Sami Pekkola (tenor sax on B6)
Ahti Isomäki (percussions on A5)
Victor Tokpanou (percussions on A5)
Juha Sarkkola (drums, percussions, wurlitzer, flute)
Tuure Tammi (upright bass, trumpet, wurlitzer, drums on A6, percussions, flute)

Rec data:


  1. The Dancers of Tanguelan
  2. Shango
  3. To See Means To Know?
  4. The spirits of the dead
  5. Python
  6. Sangomav
  7. Vodun Talisman
  8. Himalayan Winds
  9. Nag Chamba Street
  10. Lava
  11. Unknown
  12. Odd Sticks

Album Preview


This is a non-academic, avantgarde jazz LP where ethnical grooves meet analogue sound aesthetics. The record is produced by The Blassics' core duo Tuure Tammi and Juha Sarkkola who temporarily stood away from their afrofunk orientated main project. On making Odd Jazz Vol. 1 the production duo surrendered for the moment to achieve a more improvisation based freedom and communication together with their musical tribe in the spirit of both unknown and known greats from the consciousness expanding global jazz movement of the late 60s and early 70s.
Odd Jazz Vol. 1 is the first part of a spaced out jazz trilogy released by Odd Funk Records. This collection connects the listener both musically and spiritually to jazz unknown and unexperienced to many.
Odd Jazz Vol. 1 is a co-release of Odd Funk Records and another Hämeelinna, Finland based independent label, Autotehtaat Levyt.