Import CD – RRJ 1024 – Porta Palace Collective




LABEL: Rudi Records (Italy)
Format: CD / RRJ 1024
ARTIST: Porta Palace Collective
TITLE: Porta Palace Collective
JAN: 8058456240275


Johnny Lapio (trumpet)
Giancarlo Schiaffini (trombone)
Giuseppe Ricupero (tenor sax), Lino Mei (piano)
Gianmaria Ferrario (double bass)
Ruben Bellavia (drums)

Rec data:

All music by Giancarlo Schiaffini
Recorded and Mixed April 2014 by Alessandro Taricco & Gianmaria Ferrario, Arcote Jazz, Turin
Art by Ale Sordi


  1. Old Fashioned
  2. Scatole in movimento
  3. 7 Mosquitos
  4. Sòla sotto le stelle
  5. Bird’s Love
  6. 4 situazioni increscione

Album previews


A young quintet, headed by Johnny Lapio, born within the context of a music school established in Turin (Arcote Jazz Torino), which chose jazz as an educational tool for the socially complex reality of the district of Porta Palazzo. Directed by Giancarlo Schiaffini, one of the true masters of Italian contemporary jazz, the team presents an openly multiform repertoire, a mobile sound construction where languages intersect, leaving ample room to individual voices. Despite the wide range of materials employed – open blues and sinuous ballads, free jazz passages, reggae diversions, echoes of Art Ensemble and sound notes of European origin – the group proves to be very close in producing its extremely lively music. Johnny Lapio, trumpet, Giancarlo Schiaffini, trombone, Giuseppe Ricupero, tenor sax, Lino Mei, piano, Gianmaria Ferrario, double bass, Ruben Bellavia, drums.