Import LP – NS3257 RE – Journey Into Nigritia – Nate Morgan [Sold Out]

ポスト=モーダル、アフロセントリズム(アフリカ中心主義)、フリーと評されるNIMBUS WEST RECORDSの代表作「JOURNEY INTO NIGRITIA」。イタリア制作/オリジナル・レーベル名義にて250枚限定リイシュー(140g)。

NYのStrata East、セントルイスのBlack Artist Group、デトロイトのTribe、シカゴのAACM(The Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians)、オークランドのBlack Jazzと並び、ローカル・コミュニティに根差したスピリチュアル・ジャズ最重要レーベルのひとつとして今も語り継がれる、L.A.発のNimbus West Records。
Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra、UGMAA(Union of God's Musicians and Artists Ascension)の創始者として知られるホレス・タプスコットのテープを聴いて惚れ込んだトム・アルバックによって1979年に設立され、以降80年代にかけてカーティス・クラーク、ジェシ・シャープス、ゲイリー・バイアス、リンダ・ヒル、アデル・セバスチャン、ロベルト・ミゲル・ミランダ、ダディシ・コモラフェ、リッキー・ケリー、そしてネイト・モーガンといったアーティストを世に送り込む。

1964年2月10日生まれのネイト・モーガンは、ジョー・サンプル、ハンプトン・ホーズからピアノの手ほどきを受けながら、中学時代に地元のローカル・バンドで演奏を開始。学生時代にタプスコットのUGMAAに参加し、若くしてL.A.ジャズ・シーンで頭角を現す。74-77年にかけてはRUFUS & CHAKA KAHNに正式参加。ピアニストとしてはセロニアス・モンク、マッコイ・タイナー、スタンリー・カウエルらに影響を受け、アーサー・ブライス(as)、ジョン・ハード(b)、チャールズ・オーウェンス(sax)、ニドラ・ウィーラー(b)、サンシップ・テウス(ds)らと研鑽に励んだ。2013年11月21日死去。



FORMAT: 140-145g LP / Limited 250 copies
Originally released as: NIMBUS WEST RECORDS NS3257 (1983, U.S.A.)
JAN: 4560312319413


Nate Morgan (p)
Fritz Wise (dms)
Jeff Littleton (b)
Dadisi Komolafe (as)


A1. Journey Into Nigritia
A2. He Left Us A Song
A3. Study In C.T.

B1. Mrafu
B2. Morning Prayer
B3. Mother


Nimbus West Records was the most quietly influential of all jazz record labels of the late 70s & 1980s. Like its predecessors and contemporaries, Strata East in New York, Black Artists Group in St. Louis, Tribe in Detroit, and The Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) in Chicago, Nimbus West represented the west coast sound of progressive jazz, developing a different flavour to their Californian cousin up the coast in Oakland SF, Black Jazz. Each of these vital jazz labels was a product of and conduit for their local communities, channelling an intense concentration of musical talent. At the dawn of the Regan era, Nimbus West was no exception. It gave expression to a new generation of artists, including pianist Nate Morgan, guided by a legendary figure from the LA jazz scene, Horace Tapscott.

Starting out in 1979, Nimbus West was initially a vehicle to promote the music of Tapscott, who gave up a successful career in Lionel Hampton’s band and returned to Los Angeles to establish the Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra, a community arts ensemble that was dedicated to providing accessible, community-focused jazz and musical education. Over some forty years, the Arkestra, along with the associated Union of God’s Musicians and Artists Ascension (UGMAA) Foundation, were at the vanguard of a crucial community-centred black arts movement in the city.

Alongside the numerous projects from Tapscott, Nimbus West also issued recordings from a range of artists and ensembles from big band to solo and everything in between. These artists included Curtis Clark, Jesse Sharp, Gary Bias, Linda Hill, Adele Sebastian, Roberto Miranda, Dadisi Komolafe, Rickey Kelly and Nate Morgan.